Faculty

 

The Iowa law faculty is nationally recognized for its scholarly productivity. The faculty is also well-known for its interdisciplinary interests. A number of faculty members have Ph.D.s, and the faculty publishes regularly in history, social science, and general humanities journals as well as traditional law reviews. The following individuals were members of the full-time faculty as of the fall semester of 2013.  The list includes those temporarily away on visits to other institutions, on reduced teaching loads, and on phased retirement.

Gail Agrawal

Gail B. Agrawal

Dean and F. Wendell Miller Professor of Law
319-384-4658 • 290 BLB
gail-agrawal@uiowa.edu

Caorlyn Jones

Carolyn Jones

Dean Emerita and F. Wendell Miller Professor of Law
319-335-9034 • 476 BLB
carolyn-jones@uiowa.edu

College of Law

Patricia Acton

Clinical Professor of Law
319-335-9044 • 492 BLB
patricia-action@uiowa.edu

Sheldon Kurtz

Sheldon Kurtz

David H. Vernon Professor of Law
319-335-9069 • 446 BLB
sheldon-kurtz@uiowa.edu

John Allen

John Allen

Clinical Professor and Bouma Clinical Fellow in Trial Law
319-335-9130 • 380 BLB
john-allen@uiowa.edu

Congressman James Leach

The Honorable James Leach

University of Iowa Chair in Public Affairs, Visiting Professor of Law and Senior Scholar
319-335-9225 - 414 BLB
james-leach@uiowa.edu

Eric Andersen

Eric Andersen

Senior Associate Dean and Professor of Law
319-335-9090 • 470 BLB
eric-andersen@uiowa.edu

Chris Liebig

Christopher Liebig

Professor of Legal Analysis, Writing & Research
319-335-9177 • 426 BLB
chris-liebig@uiowa.edu

Dawn Anderson

Dawn Anderson

Associate Professor of Legal Analysis, Writing and Research
319-384-2811 • 423 BLB
dawn-r-anderson@uiowa.edu

College of Law

Marc Linder

Professor of Law
319-335-6830 • 458 BLB
marc-linder@uiowa.edu

Patrick Bauer

Patrick B. Bauer

Professor of Law
319-335-9014 • 418 BLB
patrick-bauer@uiowa.edu

Robert Miller

Professor of Law and F. Arnold Daum Fellow in Corporate Law
319-335-9001 • 492 BLB
robert-t-miller@uiowa.edu

Randy Bezanson

Randy Bezanson

David H. Vernon Professor of Law
 

Angela Onwuachi-Willig

Angela Onwuachi-Willig

Charles M. and Marion J. Kierscht Professor of Law
319-335-9043 • 456 BLB
angela-onwuachi@uiowa.edu

Christina Bohannan

Christina Bohannan

Professor and Lauridsen Family Fellow in Law
319-335-8337 • 425 BLB
christina-bohannan@uiowa.edu

Mark Osiel

Mark Osiel

Aliber Family Chair in Law
319-335-6553 • 468 BLB
mark-osiel@uiowa.edu

Arthur Bonfield

Arthur Bonfield

Allan D. Vestal Chair and Associate Dean for Research
319-335-9020 • 438 BLB
arthur-bonfield@uiowa.edu

Todd Pettys

Todd Pettys

Associate Dean for Faculty and H. Blair and Joan V. White Chair in Civil Litigation
319-335-6814 • 447 BLB
todd-pettys@uiowa.edu

Willard 'Sandy' Boyd

Willard Boyd

Rawlings-Miller Professor of Law and President Emeritus
319-335-9004 • 460 BLB
willard-boyd@uiowa.edu

Jason Rantanen

Jason Rantanen

Associate Professor of Law
319-335-9109 • 408 BLB
jason-rantanen@uiowa.edu

Steven Burton

Steven Burton

John F. Murray Professor
319-335-9024 • 466 BLB
steven-burton@uiowa.edu

John Reitz

John Reitz

Edward Carmody Professor of Law and Director of Graduate Programs and Visiting Scholars
319-335-9086 • 424 BLB
john-reitz@uiowa.edu

Jonathan Carlson

Jonathan Carlson

Professor of Law & International Studies and Victor and Carol Alvarez Fellow in Law
319-335-9026 • 444 BLB
jonathan-c-carlson@uiowa.edu

L. Song Richardson

Professor of Law
319-335-6811 • 414 BLB
song-richardson@uiowa.edu

Enrique Carrasco

Enrique Carrasco

Professor and Ferguson-Carlson Fellow in Law
319-335-9059 • 472 BLB
enrique-carrasco@uiowa.edu

Leonard Sandler

Leonard Sandler

Clinical Professor of Law
319-335-9030 • 380 BLB
leonard-sandler@uiowa.edu

Lois Cox

Lois Cox

Clinical Professor of Law
319-335-9062 • 380 BLB
lois-cox@uiowa.edu

Barbara Schwartz

Barbara Schwartz

Clinical Professor of Law
319-335-9023 • 380 BLB
barbara-schwartz@uiowa.edu

Marcella David

Marcella David

Professor of Law & International Studies and Associate Dean
319-335-9133 • 451 BLB
marcella-david@uiowa.edu

College of Law

Lorie Schweer

Associate Professor of Legal Analysis, Writing and Research
319-384-2812 • 431 BLB
lorie-reins-schweer@uiowa.edu

Stella Elias

Associate Professor of Law
319-335-9034 • 490 BLB
stella-elias@uiowa.edu

Caroline Sheerin

Caroline Sheerin

Professor of Legal Analysis, Writing & Research
319-335-9131 • 406 BLB
caroline-sheerin@uiowa.edu

Ann Estin

Ann Laquer Estin

Aliber Family Chair in Law
319-335-6850 • 416 BLB
ann-estin@uiowa.edu

Professor Somek

Alexander Somek

Charles E. Floete Chair in Law
319-335-9057 • 411 BLB
alexander-somek@uiowa.edu

Tom Gallanis

Thomas Gallanis

N. William Hines Chair in Law and Professor of History
319-335-9018 • 454 BLB
thomas-gallanis@uiowa.edu

Maya Steinitz

Maya Steinitz

Associate Professor of Law
319-335-9033 • 475 BLB
maya-steinitz@uiowa.edu

College of Law

Josephine Gittler

Wiley B. Rutledge Professor Of Law
319-335-9046 • 412 BLB
josephine-gittler@uiowa.edu

John-Mark Stensvaag

John-Mark Stensvaag

Charlotte and Frederick Hubbell Professor of Environmental and Natural Resources Law
319-335-9035 • 462 BLB
j-stensvaag@uiowa.edu

Paul Gowder

Associate Professor of Law
319-384-3202 • 407 BLB
paul-gowder@uiowa.edu

Jim Tomkovicz

James Tomkovicz

Edward Howrey Professor
319-335-9100 • 436 BLB
james-tomkovicz@uiowa.edu

Andy Grewal

Andy Grewal

Associate Professor of Law
319-849-8757 • 478 BLB
amandeep-grewal@uiowa.edu

Lea VanderVelde

Lea VanderVelde

Josephine R. Witte Chair
319-335-9102 • 464 BLB
l-vandervelde@uiowa.edu

Bill Hines

N. William Hines

Dean Emeritus and Joseph F. Rosenfield Professor
319-335-9236 • 440 BLB
n-hines@uiowa.edu

College of Law

Gerald Wetlaufer

Professor of Law
319-335-9107 • 420 BLB
gerald-wetlaufer@uiowa.edu

Herbert Hovenkamp

Herbert Hovenkamp

Ben and Dorothy Willie Chair
319-335-9079 • 432 BLB
herbert-hovenkamp@uiowa.edu

John Whiston

John Whiston

Herschel G. Langdon Clinical Professor Of Law
319-335-9145 • 380 BLB
john-whiston@uiowa.edu

Emily Hughes

Emily Hughes

Professor and Bouma Fellow in Law
319-335-9886 • 474 BLB
emily-hughes@uiowa.edu

Adrien Wing

Adrien Wing

Bessie Dutton Murray Professor
319-335-9129 • 410 BLB
adrien-wing@uiowa.edu

    Joe Yockey

Joseph Yockey

Associate Professor of Law
319-335-9883 • 428 BLB
joseph-yockey@uiowa.edu

      back to top
 

Emeriti Faculty

The following individuals held emeritus status as of the fall semester of 2013.

   
Bill Buss

William G. Buss

O.K. Patton Professor Emeritus
319-335-9025 • 434 BLB
william-buss@uiowa.edu

College of Law

Reta Noblett-Feld

Clinical Professor of Law Emerita

College of Law

Patricia Cain

Aliber Family Chair Emerita

College of Law

Larry Ward

Orville L. and Ermina D. Dykstra Chair in Federal Tax Law Emeritus

College of Law

Jean Love

Martha-Ellen Tye Professor of Law Emerita

Burns Weston

Burns H. Weston

Bessie Dutton Murray Distinguished Professor of Law Emeritus and Senior Scholar, UI Center for Human Rights
burns-weston@uiowa.edu

Barry Motsumoto

Barry Matsumoto

Associate Professor of Law Emeritus
319-335-9070 • 422 BLB
barry-matsumoto@uiowa.edu

Mark Schantz

Professor of Law and General Counsel Emeritus
mark-schantz@uiowa.edu

College of Law

Paul Neuhauser

Professor of Law Emeritus

   

back to top



Visiting, Part-time, and Adjunct Faculty

The following individuals are scheduled to teach during the 2013-14 academic year, or have taught at Iowa during the previous two academic years and are expected to have a continuing relationship with the College of Law.

Michaël Amado Jean C. Lawrence
Lars Anderson Barry A. Lindahl
David Baker Andrea Lyon
Judge James Baker Linda A. McGuire
Michael Bandstra Judge Michael Melloy
Sean Berry Nathan Miller
David Bright Paul Morf
William Brown Matthew J. Nagle
Matthew Cole Linda Neuman
Charlie Damschen Douglas Oelschlaeger
Brian Fagan Kevin Outterson
Brian Farrell Vice Chancellor Donald F. Parsons
Brenna Findley Gay Pelzer
Don Ford Michael Pitton
Martin Gardner William Reisinger
Kathy Hall Elisabeth Reynoldson
Mark Hansing Ann Rhodes
Jeff Harty Meredith Rich-Chappell
Joseph Holland Christopher Robinette
Justice Randy Holland Christopher Rossi
Donald Holmes Jacob Schunk
Gary Howell Leon Spies
Pat Ingram Serena Stier
Judge John Jarvey Judge George Stigler
Nicholas Johnson Gary Streit
Ellen Jones Alexander Türk
Eileen Kamerick Pamela White
Richard Koontz C.J. Williams
Lisa Krigsten Mark Wyeth QC
   
   
   
   
   
   
   

back to top

Affiliated Faculty

The following individuals are faculty members in other colleges at the University of Iowa.  They hold complimentary appointments at the College of Law as of the fall semester of 2013.

Celesta Albonetti Dr. Jody R. Murph
Kathleen Buckwalter Ahmed Souaiaia
Nancy Hauserman  

Faculty Speakers Program

Throughout the semester members of our faculty enjoy presentations by guest speakers and Iowa faculty members. These presentations are for faculty only. For information about planning other events at the law school, please see this web guide.

Speakers Schedule

back to top

Iowa Legal Studies Workshop

During the semester a number of Iowa Legal Studies Workshops are held to give authors at the University of Iowa College of Law an opportunity to receive constructive, critical analyses of their written work.  The Workshop draws its inspiration from the format ordinarily used at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. 

Iowa Legal Studies Workshop

back to top

Food for Thought

The College of Law’s Food for Thought series provides an opportunity for faculty members to lead a discussion on a possible scholarly project at a very early stage.  The series is designed primarily for the faculty member who is contemplating an article or book, but would like advice from colleagues about how to formulate the project or about whether to pursue the project at all.  On occasion, we also will devote a Food for Thought session to a recent development in the law that a faculty member would like to bring to his or her colleagues’ attention.

 

back to top